Citrus Herb-Salt Rub

I love coming up with new ideas for food, if you haven’t noticed. Well the other day I was looking through one of my favorite magazines to get ideas and I saw this herb-salt rub that looked great, I just had to try it. The only thing was I missing was rosemary, I had used the rest for Thanksgiving that I just never replaced. So I changed it up a little bit and added oregano instead and added some cinnamon.

It just smelled so good. The lemon zest just brightens it up. I was trying to figure out what this would taste better on chicken with skin or without. I decided to go with having the chicken skin on. We had just bought chicken thighs the day before I thought this would be perfect on them. Added a little butter to help give the skin a little extra crunch.

Citrus Herb-Salt Rub

  • 3/4 coarse salt
  • 2 Tbs finely grated lemon zest
  • 4 Tbs dried Parsley
  • 3 Tbs dried Thyme
  • 3 Tbs dried Oregano
  • 1/2 ts sugar
  • 1/2 ts paprika
  • 1/2 ts red flakes
  • 1/2 ts cinnamon

Directions:

Mix everything together until well blended. Store in an air tight container up to 3 months.

For the Chicken:

Place thighs on baking dish and lightly sprinkle mixture over chicken. Bake in a 375 degree oven for 45min-60min or until done.

One thought on “Citrus Herb-Salt Rub

Leave a comment